Record Snowfall

Snow-pocalypse is the term my dear husband gave this massive snow storm.  One for the record books.  25+ inches of snow, two days of public school closures, and hours and hours of shoveling.  From early in the morning, the wonderful men in my life were out shoveling not only our sidewalks and drive, but 3 other families’ walks, as well as completely digging out two cars that were parked on the street, buried not only in the falling snow, but in the snowplow’s piles.

There is something so amazing about the world stopping – at least, my world.  The pressures of a fax I needed to send (when we don’t have a fax at our home), the trips to dance and Boy Scouts, my husband not being able to work, even educating the kids at home, all come to a screeching halt.  A forced rest, a kind of Sabbath from daily pressures.  I can even feel it outside our house, a neighborhood, a city, even a state – at rest.

It is a time for hot cocoa, hot apple cider, games on the floor, books, craft projects, and silliness in the snow outside.



It is also time for shifting perspectives.  It is a chance to see your landscape in a different light.  It is time to see beauty in the ordinary.  As I fold laundry, looking out the window, I make a mental snapshot of the feet of snow bordering the sidewalks.  Can I find beauty in every moment?  Is there beauty in every moment?



My worldview is that yes, God is in every moment, and so therefore, there is beauty in every moment.

_______________________________________________________

2 Comments

Filed under Family and faith

2 responses to “Record Snowfall

  1. Ken

    Beautifully said….

  2. Lynn McBride

    Yep, there’s beauty in every moment. I’ve always considered this a blessing that not everyone has. I suppose if I were in Haiti or Pakistan or Tuscon right now, beauty would be harder to see, but, through God’s direction, it’s there. I guess that’s saying that beauty is a God thing, but then, beauty is a good thing, and all good things come from God. That’s the real underlying reason I can sincerely say that I have never worked a day in my life. Some people look askance when I say that, but it’s so true. Relishing God’s beauty (it’s more than a pretty snow) can be so blissful and rewarding. I relate closely to your views about the big snow, but, as you say, that’s another train of thought.

Leave a Reply

