Recipe – Mexican Rice Soup

In 2010, my aunt collected recipes from our family and compiled them in a cookbook.  It was so well done, and was SUCH a gift to our family.  I can’t imagine the hours she put in to collect all of the recipes and to organize them into a book that is lovely and represents the heart of our family.  It is a collection of great food, but it is also a gathering place for sweet memories spent at Grandma’s kitchen table, a guide on how to recreate sights and smells from my childhood, and a time capsule of treasures from the past

One of the recipes that I submitted to her is one of my go-to soup recipes.  I thought I’d share it with you.  I hope you like it!

Mexican Rice Soup
1/4 c. olive oil
1 med. onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 c. low-sodium vegetable broth (can use boillon cubes)
1 bay leaf
1 tsp. dried oregano
2 T. grated lime zest
2 whole thyme sprigs
1/2 c. arborio rice
2 small tomatoes, seeded and diced or 1 can of diced tomatoes
(if using diced tomato can, strain extra liquid out first)
1/2 c. fresh or frozen corn
salt & pepper
1 avocado, diced
1/2 c. chopped cilantro

Heat oil in a stockpot over medium heat; add onion and saute 5 – 7 minutes.  Add garlic and saute 1 minute more.  Add broth, bay leaf, oregano, lime zest and thyme sprigs.  Bring to boil, cover, and reduce heat to low.  Simmer 10 minutes.  (All of the above steps are to season the broth). 
Strain broth, discard solids and return to stockpot.  Add rice to broth.  Bring to simmer over medium-low heat, cover and simmer 10 minutes.  Stir in tomatoes and corn and season with salt and pepper.  Simmer 10 more minutes.  Simmer 10 more minutes.  Place avocado and cilantro in bowls and ladle soup on top.

This should feed 4 people. 
I always add more corn and rice – however, the arborio rice really soaks up the broth, so if you add too much, you might have to add a little vegetable broth to thin it out a bit.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Recipe – Mexican Rice Soup

  1. Emily

    This sounds really yummy and inexpensive! Do you serve it by itself?

  2. Joan

    Lori,
    I’m your neighbor. I stumbled upon your blog through one of the news stories on the Grove. I’ve been attending Ken’s story lab. It’s actually boggling my mind that there are so many women in our neighborhood, with whom I have so much in common, but with whom I’ve never really connected. I hope that over the next year to get to know you better!!! Thanks for your honesty, it really breaks through the isolation I can feel in our “emerging neighborhood”.
    Joan

    • Joan, thanks so much for the encouraging words, and for the hope that there are still people in our neighborhood with whom I could connect! I can’t wait to meet and get to know you better! Enjoy StoryLab today.

Leave a Reply

