Serene Saturdays #11

For my birthday in August, I was given a Nook from Barnes and Noble.  Besides the contemporary books that I’ve downloaded to read, I’ve also downloaded several classics.  With the Nook, most classics are either free or extremely cheap.  Therefore, I am on a classics kick.  Over the past few weeks, I’ve read Frankenstein (Mary Shelley), O Pioneers! (Willa Cather), and am presently reading Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Robert Louis Stevenson).  If it isn’t actually making me smart, it is making me feel smart!  🙂 

I am inspired by the slow pace with which the plots develop.  When things slow down, details can really be seen, rolled in, and developed.  In each of these books there is a dynamic story told and there is tension and intrigue – but, conspicuously missing are the explosions and alien invaders.  The themes revolve around the accomplishments that happen when we use our minds, whether those things are noble successes or massive failures. 

I guess that relates to this week.  I have been trying to slow down and live the details of the moment.  Not sure how successful I’ve been (things feel like are spinning a little) but I am trying to capture each moment.  Having a daughter heading off to college in a few months puts everything into perspective…

This week I am thankful for:

Good books.

Business tax help.

A date with my husband.

Seedlings (tomatoes and peppers) germinating. 

The friendship that my kids have.

I hope that your weekend is just what you need!  And remember to capture each moment…

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekends

Leave a Reply

