Broken Things

Yes, I haven’t posted in a while.  No, I didn’t drop off the earth.  I just dropped off the side of the curb.  Over the past week, I’ve dedicated a great many hours painting the walls of my husband’s business.  I was up and down a ladder more times than I can count.  I was carrying huge carpet and linoleum rolls.  I was bending and stretching, painting and lifting, hour after hour.  All without incident.

And then, as I was returning to my van at the end of a long day, I rolled my foot stepping off the curb.  Instantly, I was washed with nausea, hyperventilating, and sweating as I dealt with intense pain.  My family was on their way to the van, so they got me a bag of ice and took me directly home to elevate and ice.

My dancer daughter, who has suffered through sprained ankles, taught me the treatment.  R.I.C.E.  Rest.  Ice.  Compress. Elevate.

I did so religiously for several days, finally giving in to the reality that it wasn’t getting any better.  My husband lovingly said that I had a club for a foot…not much more you can say after that.

So today, after several hours at the doctor and an x-ray clinic, it was confirmed that I broke a bone on the top and side of my foot.  Prognosis:  the typical 6 weeks of immobilization.

I am a tough girl, but I have to admit that there have been moments of being quite overwhelmed, and a few tears have been shed as I process continuing through my life with 4 kids, childcare for 2 little ones, the coming of outdoor summer activities, and my husband leaving for 2+ weeks on Friday.

At this point, the gift of perspective really kicks in.  Instead of feeling sorry for myself, I have to step back and become incredibly grateful for the things that I do have.  I am incredibly grateful that it was just one foot.  I am incredibly grateful that my kids are at an age when they are so very helpful.  And, I am incredibly grateful that they choose to be so very helpful.  I have been completely taken care of by them – even to the extent that they went into the grocery store with my lists, shopped and paid for all of our groceries, while I sat in the car.

Perspective.  It is priceless.

As is having deposited so much into the bank accounts of my family that I can take a few withdrawals every now and again…

2 Comments

Filed under General thoughts

2 responses to “Broken Things

  1. I’m so sorry, Lori! I’ve been wondering how you were doing . . .

    Your gratitude and perspective is contagious, beautiful. Thank-you for sharing. Please let me know if I can do anything (would it help if I watched Avery in the mornings and took her to school while Ken is gone?).

    Love,
    Erika

  2. Erika, Thanks so much for your offer! It is unbelievably generous. At this time, I’ve worked out a system with the kids to help me out. If they or I run into something that we can’t do, I’ll let you know. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

