Serene Saturdays #19

This is the first Saturday morning in such a long, long time that I’ve been able to get away to write!  It feels really good to be back in front of my computer, reflecting on the past few weeks and looking introspectively to see what stands out to me.

The first thing that stands out is that, for the most part, my husband’s business construction is done!  For 2 1/2 months, nearly every single day, my kids and I were up at the space doing construction.  Because we were doing this as inexpensively as possible, we were the construction team, guided and trained by my husband’s business partner.  The kids learned how to mud and sand, cut and lay hardwood floors, use a miter saw, cut baseboards, install and custom cut ceiling tiles, caulk and paint – among many other things.

However, a week ago Monday, the furniture was moved, the space was arranged and was officially occupied.

( the kitchenette)


(one of the meeting rooms)


(the main co-working space)


(reception area)

I’ll write more about the business concept later, as well as post more pics, but the reason that I mentioned this project was because of the immense time that we poured into it.  It was beautiful to see my kids investing their vacation time to see their dad’s dream turned into a reality.

Another major life change that stands out as defining this summer is my eldest heading off to college.  She leaves in less than 2 weeks now – gulp.  Who knew what kind of activity her leaving would generate?  We have been on the constant hunt for the perfect bedspread, been busy with filling a way-too-tiny dorm room, buying textbooks and a huge variety of dance supplies (shoes, pants, tights, leotards, etc.) and collecting planners, notebooks, pens and pencils.  (Do they even use pencils in college any more?)

Another aspect of getting her off to college is eeking out every ounce of fun that we can from each moment.  No pressure, huh?  There isn’t one of us that is ready to see her go.  What a blessing she is to our family.

I am thankful for:

Seeing a huge construction task finished.

Being able to pour into my husband’s dream.

Getting to help my daughter navigate some huge transitions.

Having my ankle healed and being able to walk again without assistance or with a limp.

New England summer weather.

Thanks for hanging in there with me during my summer break.  I anticipate that, once my daughter leaves for college, I will be able to get the family back into a rhythm and be able to carve in time to write.  Until then, enjoy the rest of your summer!

1 Comment

Filed under Weekends

One response to “Serene Saturdays #19

  1. Geoff

    Love the new Grove! Looking forward to seeing it one day. Thanks for the pics.
    And thank you for letting us be a part of your family, your dreams, your adventures, your joys and sorrows, and more through this blog. We love you guys and miss you!

Leave a Reply

