Recipe – Mediterranean Orzo Salad

Holy cow, I just stumbled upon this really great salad that serves as a great main dish.  I just had to pass it on.  It is really easy to prepare.

I found this recipe in a Cooking Light magazine as I was purging some really old back issues.  I was just ripping out pages that I thought looked promising, and this was one of my picks.  Therefore, I can only report that it was some issue of Cooking Light, but I don’t know in what month or year it was published.

Surprisingly, my whole family liked it.  (There are very few dishes that I can say that about.)  I hope you like it, too!

Mediterranean Orzo Salad with Feta Vinaigrette

1 cup uncooked orzo (about 8 ounces)
2 cups bagged pre washed baby spinach, chopped
1/2 cup chopped, drained, oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
3 T. chopped red onion
3 T. chopped pitted kalamata olives
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. salt
1  6oz. jar marinated artichoke hearts, undrained
3/4 cup  (3oz) feta cheese, crumbled and divided

1. Cook the orzo according to package directions, not adding oil or salt.  Drain, rinse with cold water.

2. Combine orzo, spinach, and the next 5 ingredients (through salt) in a large bowl.

3. Drain artichokes, reserving marinade.  Coarsely chop artichokes and add artichokes, reserved marinade, and feta cheese to orzo mixture.  Toss gently to coat.

Yield:  4 servings
Calories:  338
Protein:  11.9g
Carbs:  52g
Fiber:  5.1g

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking

One response to “Recipe – Mediterranean Orzo Salad

  1. Wow it looks and sounds so yummy Lori! I’m not in a place where I can make it right now but I look forward to trying it, or having with you guys in the future! Thanks for passing it on.

Leave a Reply

